Jeg var faret vild på Fredag. Det var ikke sjovt for min værtsmor eller mig, men jeg er fint nu.

To my dearest friends in the United States and places other than Denmark, I would encourage you to read this with an open mind. Denmark is not like any other place in the world, and I understood that what I did here would not be safe in many other places. I understand that it is different in your culture, but please do not send me messages about how it is dangerous.

The story officially starts on Thursday, where I had a lot of fun and was pretty dead beat. So dead beat, in fact, that I had trouble sleeping. I awoke Friday with a nasty throat ache. Normally, I would have pushed through it in the US, but I had a big week ahead and being sick would not help.  (Note: I am sick now, and drinking a ridiculous amount of tea at language camp.) I decided that it would be a good idea to sleep a bit more.

When I awoke, I was feeling a bit better. However, I had to figure out which bus to take, unaware that busses with the same numbers go different places. I thought I was fine, but when the bus got near Gram I realized that I was headed the exact opposite direction that I needed to go. After contacting my host sister, I got off the bus in Gram.

There was only one other person who got off the bus with me, leaving me with one possibility to. I asked the stranger how I would get to Haderslev, but there wasn’t really many options for what to do. This man, though, could drive me to Vojens.

I never learned his name, but he was married and had two kids. His reason for being in Gram was to pick up this big truck for the place he worked. I also never found out the name of where he worked, but it involved designer kitchens in the Middle East. He told me that he wanted to switch to a job in Berlin where he would be the CEO of a new company, but he didn’t want to have his family move.

After a call with my host mom, we got it confirmed that he would drive me to Vojens, where my host mom would pick me up and take me to school. So we got in the huge, un-air-conditioned truck that he was picking up for his job, and headed to meet my host mom. This stranger went out of his way for me, but I actually never even knew his name.

If you had told me that I would end up taking a ride with a stranger in a sweltering, barely functioning truck because I got on the wrong bus a year ago, I am not sure what I would have thought. However, the reality of exchange is that you end up doing many things that you never could have predicted, and that experience is a pretty mild representation of that.

I did make it to the school just fine, and my classmates were not the least bit freaked out that I had taken a ride with a stranger. They did, however, encourage me to write about this positive aspect of the Danish culture. I am glad that they did, and I hope that this blog post will convey the attitude of Denmark well to you all.

Dette uge, jeg vil lære meget Dansk. Jeg er også træt og syg, det vil være interessent. Min klasse, jeg håber jer vil har en god uge. Jeg savner jer.

