Jeg har lært mere dansk nu, og det er fantastisk. Jeg vil skrive om denne, og også roning og lave mad.

Så venner, it is a time for a Danish language update. I have been here two months now, and I feel like I have made a fair amount of improvement. No, I cannot help in the Danish grammar trivia game that my classmates are playing as I write this, but I can mostly understand children’s books and am not totally clueless anymore.

Back in January, I found out that I was going to Denmark. I texted my dad this, and is so kind response was, “What language will you learn?” (Note: My dad is perfectly aware that Danish is spoken in Denmark, he was just referencing the fact that nearly everybody speaks English.) Eight months later, I can tell you that it is possible to learn Danish in Denmark, and the English factor does come in handy for some things.

I spent six months learning Danish on Duolingo, which helped a lot with getting used to the sound of Danish in my mouth and learning the basics. I am very grateful for  Frazee High School giving me the opportunity to have an extra free hour to do this, as I could not imagine coming in with no Danish experience whatever. When I got here, I could make very very simple sentences and understand very little.

It’s gotten a bit better now. I can make sentences that aren’t simple and can sometimes understand most of what is being said in some conversations. Understanding can be rather tough because Danes talk pretty fast, and it take a lot of mental concentration to understand most of a conversation, and that is only possible if I am familiar with words being used.

The methods I use now include writing different forms of verbs down, reading children’s books with Benedikt (my German friend who is very picky on pronunciation), watching a children’s show on Netflix while alternating the voiceover and subtitles, and trying to guess what my friends are talking about. I also try to use my Danish when I can. Writing the verbs down helps with my vocabulary, having to say every syllable of the children’s book perfectly really helps my pronunciation, the children’s show helps me practice listening to Danish on an easier level as well as expand my vocabulary (learned: regnbuekanin), and trying to tell what my friends are saying helps me understand what the heck is going on.

I still have a long way to go, and I am excited to get there. The language is probably going to be the toughest part of my exchange. However, learning more and more is so much fun, and brings a satisfaction that is hard to explain. I look forward to seeing how much I can speak and understand at the end of the month because it’s just getting better and better.

*************

Ok, back to the interesting events this week. Monday was my first tough day I have really had on exchange because of the robbery (check on my last post), but other than that day this week was mostly fun. That started out when I went to coffee with Iben, and I ordered a  Skildpadde latte. A picture was needed because apparently I am extremely focused on coffee, it’s almost like I am a former barista or something (disclosure: I am).

img_1688

The hygge time with Iben did not stop on Wednesday, this time with friends Thora and Sarah. We headed over to Sarah’s house after school, where they made pumpkin soup and pumpkin pie, while I made my American cinnamon rolls. It turns out that American cinnamon rolls are well liked here in Denmark, and I will be making some for our weekly class cake sale tomorrow, so Danish friends be prepared!

The food making was interrupted, because we got the chance to go rowing. Sarah has been rowing for quite sometime now, and was kind enough to take us all with for a row. I have never gone rowing before, and so it was quite the adventure. Thankfully, the teacher was very patient with me, and I sort of had it down at the end. It was quite enjoyable when I wasn’t messing up and hope to do it again so I can improve even more!

14556131_1250788558329654_354986587_n

Here is a picture of all of us except for Thora, who was with someone else on the boat with two oars per person. Another girl was nice enough to join us so we would have four rowers!

Afterwards, we picked up a suitcase for Sarah, and ran through the streets of Haderslev back into her warm house. We ate a lot of that delicious pumpkin soup and the dessert right after. I am so glad for such a hygge time with them.

On Thursday, we celebrated Bodil’s birthday, and a lot of friends and neighbors came over. It was very nice getting to spend time with them, and we got to see pictures from Sara’s short term exchange to Taiwan. It was a wonderful day getting to spend time with such nice people and hearing about Sara’s trip!

The weekend ended up with some bonding time with bonding time with both Iben and Sara, in different ways. However, this blog is getting way to long, so I might as well stop here. It’s late because I spent yesterday night making cinnamon rolls, but I will update on that next blog.

Jeg ved jeg skriver meget, så tak for læsning. Jeg vil aldrig stoppe og har en artikel i avisen, vi kan læse det i morgen. Det er om education i Danmark, og jeg håber det vil være interessant. Godnat mine venner!

