Hejsa venner! Jeg besøgte endelig København, og det var fantastisk, og meget anderledes end Sydjylland. Det var en mega sjov tur, og jeg tog mange gode billeder. Jeg mødtes med nogle venner og det var meget hyggeligt og spændende.

I have been lucky enough to see a fair amount of Denmark for having lived here six months – I’ve been to the top of Denmark and down into Germany. With my rotary district, I got to go to Odense. However, there is one place that I hadn’t seen yet that is basically a requirement among all exchange students – København.

While Copenhagen is known across the rural United States as a chewing tobacco brand, København is known across the world as Denmark’s capital city. When people come to visit, it is always a must, as well as that classic picture with the beautiful buildings at Nyhavn. It hadn’t worked out for me to see København yet, so I talked with Siri – a former exchange student in Detroit Lakes that lives close to the city – about the possibility to come and visit. Siri and her family kindly opened her home for me, and Siri dedicated our Saturday to showing me around the city.

After an interesting bus ride over, I arrived into a drizzly København Central Station. It turns out that København H is a little bit bigger than the Vojens train station. I then struggled to figure out how the heck the train system worked, as there were not signs saying the platforms. After going down to each track individually, I got it figured out and arrived safely in Lyndby.

That night I got to know Siri, her boyfriend Harlan from Australia, her family, and some of the family friends. After a long journey, it was really nice to relax over delicious food and eat a ridiculous amount of fruit salad. Everyone was very sweet, and I learned that København Danish is a bit different than Sydjylland Danish, but I could still understand most of it.

The next morning, Harlan decided it would be fun for us to cycle a few kilometers over to the royal family’s hunting house. Now, the royal family doesn’t actually go hunting, but they have the hunting house in an deer haven where the coloring of the deer is proportional to the skin color of the world’s population. Every year there is a horse race at this place with someone from the royal family there, and until then it is a very nice nature place with lots of deer and and horse riding. It was really fun getting to see this beautiful building and learning about the area.

dscn0121

After the nice morning bike ride, we had quite the spectacular brunch, complete with Vegemite. To my Australian friends who enjoy vegemite, I commend you. I am not strong enough to take it. To others who might be coerced into trying Vegemite in the future (though I must say I took it willingly), be warned –  Vegemite is not what one would call delicious.

It was a bit ironic, but the first place that Siri took me in København was the Botanic Garden. I am the product of two plant nerds and my first and middle names are both plants (my dad said it was unintended, he just really likes plant names), and so we first made the dangerous trip into the gift shop. It did prove to be as dangerous as I didn’t walk out empty handed, but on the bright side I found the perfect gift for my parents.

Siri and I also managed to get a picture that fits in perfectly with my family interests. After waiting for a lot of people and going through the roped off area of the palm house, we managed to get this picture.

img_2831

Soon after we walked a bit more around København, and saw the really pretty Rosenburg Slot (Castle) on our way to the food market. I sadly didn’t get any pictures in the food market, but I will just have to go there again to actually try something there. Anyways, here is the beautiful Rosenburg Slot, which is surrounded by Kongens Have.

dscn0131

We then headed to Nyhavn to fulfill the unwritten rule for every exchange in Denmark. Nyhavn is the most recognizable part of Denmark, and there’s a reason why – there’s something about the charm of Nyhavn that doesn’t fade away. Nearly every exchange student in Denmark gets a picture there. I now officially have that picture, and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to take it. There were no crowds like New York City.dscn0141

This post will be continued in my next blog post, because it turns out København is just too big to fit into one (readable) blog post.

