Måske det er en smule sent, men god påske! Jeg har haft en dejlig ferie med masse af hygge og fester. Senere skal jeg skrive om påsken i Danmark, som er helt anderledes end i USA. Her får I et indblik i min påskeferie, dog uden en fortælling om de danske påsketraditioner.

One thing I have come to notice is that Danes sure have a lot of vacation. I was surprised when we has a whole week for fall break. It was nice getting a really long Christmas/New Years break. I would be lying if I said that I wasn’t surprised when we had yet another break in February. These series of week long breaks was finished with a week long break for Easter, known as Påske in Danish.

My class happened to be free after Thursday, so that meant that we had the entire Friday free. This turned out to be very good timing, because I got to meet up with a friend that I hadn’t seen in a long time.

Three years ago, I wanted to be an exchange student, but had no idea how. When we were hosting Saskia from Germany, she got the opportunity to go on a trip to Washington D.C. and New York City, and I had the chance to go with. On that trip I met lots of exchange students, but the only one I consistently stayed in contact with just happened to be Joane, who coincidentally lives in Northern Germany. She also happened to be going to a summer house on the same island – Rømø – that my host family was going to next week, and she and her mother decided to make the drive over from Rømø and visit Haderslev.

We soon realized that it was a bit interesting communication. I could speak Danish and English, Joane was fluent in English and German, and her mother spoke German. Since we had their beautiful young labrador retriever with, we actually ran into some Danes who wanted to say hello. When I talked with Danes, I would tell Joane what I said, who would tell her mother. Joane constantly translated to her mother what I said.

Our first stop was at Damparken, and after making a pit stop at the library to pick up some German brochures, we made our way to the Cathedral that Haderslev is known for,  and around old Haderslev a bit. Afterwards, it was time for a coffee shop break, so we headed over to Cafe Kridt. We feasted on all the classics there – Nachos, coffee, hot chocolate, and french fries – but the real adventure was in seeing how good the gluten free cake was. My Danish came in handy for a little bit when a young boy asked the gender of their adorable dog. It was so cool how we could communicate with ourselves and with Danes that only spoke Danish, despite my lack of German.

We walked up to and visited Kløften tower, and then headed over to Haderslev Katedralskole. My school is a decent school, and they were impressed with the quality. However, the best part of the school tour ended up being the bathrooms. At Haka, the bathroom doors have paintings on them, and the graffiti kind of took off from there. It’s so creative that our school magazine actually has a section about it, and in a strange way it does set our school apart from other schools in Denmark for the bathroom art department.

That night I headed over to my classmate Mette’s birthday party, and had a really hyggeligt time with my fellow classmates. It was a very traditional Danish birthday party and it was quite nice spending time with my classmates outside of school.

I also got to meet up with some fellow exchange students in Vejle up with my friend Grace from Colorado. I got to see the same people I saw at Legoland, plus a few more, most of who will be on the same bus for Eurotour.

After figuring out how to get home – there was a confusing bus stop situation and an adventure finding a bathroom in Kolding – I arrived in Haderslev with minimal confusion and proud of my ability to navigate the local transportation system. I met up with my friend Sarah L for dinner, which was really nice because I haven’t had as much time with her as I would like. We talked for hours, first over food, and then adventuring up to the library to finish our conversation.

The next day, I headed over the rowing club to go to my German friend Benni’s fødselsdag (birthday) party. Benni and I have read children’s books together before, and I might have mentioned his dogs multiple times on this blog. I was really looking forward to his party, and I sure wasn’t disappointed. At this German immigrant’s birthday party, there was the most amazing Italian food and very good American swing music. It was an incredibly hyggeligt party with many wonderful people, and waking up in the morning to Benni’s dogs wasn’t too bad either.

I took the bus over to Rømø, where I would experience hygge and a Danish Påske (Easter) with my host family. However, this blog has bas gotten fairly long, so that will be covered in the next post.

Jeg har haft det travlt på det seneste, og det er ikke en slem ting. Men det betyder, at jeg er glad for at slappe af lige nu. Mange flere ting kommer til at ske i den kommende tid. Jeg vil nyde resten af tiden, som jeg har med min klasse, fordi timeglasset er ved at løbe ud.

