Nu jeg har oplevet påske i Danmark, og jeg må sige, at den er bare dejlig. Det var hyggeligt med min værtsfamilie på Rømø, hvor vi smagte solæg og marzipanæg og lærte, at det er en tradition at spise en hel masse af mad til påskefrokost. Men først skal jeg lige fortælle jer om påsken i Minnesota.

Recently I got to experience Easter in Denmark, which was a very different experience than Easter in Minnesota for me.

I have now come to realize that I probably don’t have the typical Easter traditions in the United States, but I still had some. When I was little, I would go to Easter Egg hunts with my parents. Easter egg hunts consist of a bunch of kids searching after hidden plastic eggs in a park, with the eggs typically containing chocolate or slips of paper that can lead to bigger prizes, such as stuffed animals. There also was the traditional Easter egg hunt with my home dyed eggs as well.

One big part of Easter for me – as well as a significant portion of Americans – is going to church. My family and I adore going to the Good Friday service, even though it is a very solemn service where everyone wears black. The Easter Sunday service is always packed, and sometimes overflowing to the point where there needs to be an extra room for people to watch on a screen in the church library. Before I could drive myself to the service, I can remember getting the privilege of going to all three services that the church held, due to my very musically involved parents. I love going to church, but I do remember thinking that three services in a row was a bit much.

There are some families that always have been with their relatives for holidays. My parents and I are in the middle of the US, separated from our families on both sides. We usually have our own sort of family thing at the church, but other than that it is just us. My dad and I have a special tradition of having a bike ride around Detroit Lakes (which is 10 miles/16 kilometers), which I am proud to say that he continued on for me this year. There is also an Easter Sunday Lunch/Dinner that has food such as ham, nothing out of the ordinary.

Påske in Denmark definitely goes down a bit differently. This year, I got to go down to my host family’s summer house on Rømø, an island to the west of Sønderjylland. I had had quite the packed schedule before this, so I was quite excited to just relax for a while.

Rømø is quite beautiful, and it was very peaceful being there. I wanted to take a bunch of pictures, but my phone was out of storage and I had three out of the four batteries needed to keep my camera going. I had to settle for taking a few at the end.

The biggest event of Påske in Danish culture,  though, is definitely the Påskefrokost (Easter Lunch). It reminded me a bit of the Julefrokost, though the food was  generally different. I was lucky enough that I got to be with most of the Skødt family, who had come over to my host family’s summer house.

The Påskefrokost starts out with solæg, which is pickled hard boiled egg served in a certain way. The pickled egg is cut in two, and the yolk separated, but put to the side. The egg space is then used to contain vinegar, oil, and some spices.

I wasn’t sure really what to expect, because I usually like eggs in any form, but the anticipation of seeing me try my egg from my host sisters Johanne and Emilie was a bit nerve wracking. When it came time to try my solæg, it actually wasn’t that bad. I probably did not produce the facial reaction that was anticipated.

After the solæg, lots of sild (pickled herring) came out. I have already tried sild two times, and it’s safe to say that it is not something that I wish to try again. I was very happy to have tuna mousse on my rugbrød instead of sild and onion.

I am not sure how much sild was eaten before dinner, but it was certainly a fair amount. I thought that it had been a lot of food, but I had no idea of what was yet to come.

For dinner, there was two types of potatoes, meat, and two types of salad. Everyone ate plenty of the food, which was very well prepared. This was also accompanied by the very Danish tradition of drinking påskebyrg (Easter brew) beer and schnapps. After that, we headed out on a walk, a tradition with this family. I thought that we were eating, but I soon learned that was wrong. Afterwards I got to have my first cheesecake in Denmark, which just like risalamande, was served with cherries. There was also a rhubarb chocolate tart type cake that was also very delicious. Approximately an hour and a half later, we all had soup.

In-between the walk and the cake, we also got to search for our Easter bags. Easter bags in Denmark usually contain some sort of chocolate treats. Ours were hidden in the yard area outside of the summer house, and I was relieved when the first one I found had my name on it. I must say, I was extremely excited over the discovery of marzipan chocolate eggs, and they do put malt chocolate eggs to shame.

My Easter this year consisted of a lot of hygge, getting to know a beautiful and kind family, going for walks on the beautiful Rømø, hunting for marzipan eggs in the yard, trying pickled eggs, and eating a massive amount of food. I might have only biked around three kilometers, but my Dansk Påske certainly did Easter justice for me.

Det har været en oplevelse her i Danmark, og glæder mig til, hvad der sker i de næste to måneder. Siden påske har jeg allerede set Verdensholdet i gymnastik, haft en lille tur til København, og set køer løber fri, efter de havde været indenfor hele vinteren. Jeg glæder mig meget til at fortælle om det i næste blog.

