Nu, har jeg set galla i Danmark, og det var en anderledes oplevelse end i Minnesota. Dansker kan lide at have mindre glimmer og mere at drikke. Jeg har også besøgt Schleswig og mødt fantastisk mennesker, og en sød beagle.

It was two years ago that I went to my first prom, and one year ago I was at my last. However, even though I have graduated from high school, I am a mere second year at Haderslev Katedralskole and could not go to galla. However, I do have three host siblings that are in third year and could learn from.

Prom in the US, from what I have seen, is a bit different than Galla. In the US, there is a lot more glitter, color, and fancy designs for dresses. We take our time to take good pictures, both in pretty places by parents and professionally. Having a nice car can be important, but it doesn’t usually get more creative than cars for transportation, probably out of practicality. Our dinner is accompanied by punch, not wine, and we do not have to do a fancy dance in front of everybody. After prom, we have a post prom (still without legal alcohol) that goes onto three in the morning.

Here is an example of my prom pictures from last year:

Ft. glitter, pretty nature, world’s largest turkey, corsages, my extreme sports bra tan, and bright colors.

I soon learned upon arriving that it isn’t such a big deal which car people arrive in, but the transportation mode they chose as they come up for the walk on the red carpet. I must say, I was thoroughly impressed when three people arrived at the bottom of a huge tractor, something that I haven’t even seen in Frazee. Simon (current host brother) and his date arrived with their class in a miniature train, Iben (second host sister) and her date arrived on a motorcycle, and Sara (first host sister) and her date in a hot dog strand. Sara and Jeppe made quite the impression by taking hot dogs with them as they walked the red carpet.

After they were all inside and had received champagne, they got to do a special sort of dance for all of us to see. This dance was fairly complicated, especially for its length, and they had only practiced it two times before. I was very impressed, as I am not sure how they memorized that dance after just two times.

They went on to have a dinner and a dance, and then after went into town. I got to go on a walk around Haderslev and then meet up with Sarah (friend from Canada). She and her host sister had a little party, which I was lucky enough to be at for the first part of the night before I headed home.

The next weekend was also very exciting, and began early when I was driven down to Germany with my wonderful English teacher Cordula, who I stayed with until Sunday. She had invited all of her students down for the weekend, and she extended that invitation to me – even though that meant driving me across the border there and back. Cordula has a very welcoming and unique family that consists of two fifteen year old male twins, a nine year old son, and a six year old girl. The twins and her and her husband all speak perfect Danish, English, and German, and switch between the three without realizing it. The two youngest can speak Danish and German and understand English, so my Danish came in handy there. They are all quite smart and fun to talk with, and I immediately felt at home there.

Cordula’s son, Leo, was an exchange student in the US for his seventh grade year, and his host sister Maggie is currently living with them for two months.  Maggie lives near Seattle in the US, and is nineteen and planning to go to school so she can cut hair. She was very kind and put my English to shame. Leo loves politics, and we automatically clicked so well it was a bit freaky.

The first day involved a tour around Schleswig. My day started out with getting Doritos, which I haven’t had since I was in the US, Ritter sport, and Ben and Jerry’s. Later I would have the first Ben and Jerry’s that I have had in Denmark. Later my other students arrived, and we got to see the very nice Danish school that Cordula’s husband works at. We had a very nice evening, and I’m really glad to have gotten to known everyone!

The next day we got to see around Flensburg. Flensburg has a sort of fjord town charm about it, and the architecture is quite old and beautiful, I didn’t get to check out the harbor, but’s apparently very photogenic. I’m really hoping to get to see more of it in the future.

That evening, I got to make a cheesecake, which was quite well received to say the least. It was eaten the next day, where we got to relax. I got to go in with Cordula as she voted, which made reading about how the elections in Schleswig-Holstein especially interesting.  The elections in Schleswig-Holstein were of special interest this year, so it was quite fun about reading them in the Washington Post newsletter the next morning.

My time in Germany finished with me having time with Buffy, the gorgeous family beagle. I did my best to get a picture with her, and though it was tough, here is my attempt along with majestic pictures of her.

It wasn’t too long before I was back in Vojens, but I couldn’t be more grateful for my kind English teacher taking me in for a weekend. I am very excited when I can spend time with them again, and excited to see what sort of opportunities will come soon.

Tyskland er et land, at jeg håber virkelig, at jeg kan se meget mere af næste år. Jeg håber, at jeg kan finde ud af det, før jeg tager tilbage til Minnesota. Fremtiden er meget spændene lige nu for mig, og jeg glæder mig meget, for at se om hvad skal det vil bringe.

